Mepielan Ebulletin

The Republic of Moldova Ratifies the UNECE Protocol on Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers

Monday, 30 December 2013
On 23 December 2013, the Republic of Moldova became the thirty-third Party to ratify the Protocol on Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers (Kyiv Protocol) to the Convention on Access to Information, Public Participation in Decision-making and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters (Aarhus Convention) of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE).

The Protocol on PRTRs was adopted at an extraordinary meeting of the Parties to the Aarhus Convention on 21 May 2003. It entered into force on 8 October 2009. The Republic of Moldova joins 32 countries and the European Union which have ratified the Protocol *.

Its objective is "to enhance public access to information through the establishment of coherent, nationwide pollutant release and transfer registers (PRTRs)." PRTRs are inventories of pollution from industrial sites and other sources. Although regulating information on pollution, rather than pollution directly, the Protocol is expected to exert a significant downward pressure on levels of pollution, as no company will want to be identified as among the biggest polluters.

Although the period for signature of the Protocol closed on 31 December 2003, the Protocol is open for accession (from 1 January 2004) by States and regional economic integration organizations constituted by sovereign States members of the United Nations to which their member States have transferred competence over matters governed by this Protocol (articles 24 and 26). It is entirely clear that all States can participate in the Protocol, including those which have not ratified the Aarhus Convention and those which are not members of the Economic Commission for Europe. The Protocol on PRTRs Protocol is by its design an “open” global protocol.

The ratification of the Protocol on PRTRs   by the Republic of Moldova demonstrates its universal relevance also for countries with economies in transition.

This decision is very timely, as it comes shortly before the second session of the Meeting of the Parties to the Protocol (Maastricht, the Netherlands, 2–4 June 2014), where Parties will take decisions on a number of strategic issues, including the Protocol’s new strategic plan, its work programme and the global promotion of the Protocol.


*The Parties to the Protocol on PRTRs are: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Sources: UNECE
For further information:

Please subscribe to receive updates
Name: Email: